The Goat Whisper…Not!

During my walk to work yesterday,  a mama goat and 5 kids started to follow me. They continued this behavior for about 10 minutes and so I start to sass them in a mixture of isiZulu and English. Usually it scares most animals away when I need space (especially from Mama Goat’s sharp horns) but the goats were undeterred.

On a random side note, I think baby goats/kids look like dogs with floppy ears from a distance!

On a random side note, I think baby goats/kids look like dogs with floppy ears from a distance!

I was amazed. Abantu (people) cannot understand my isiZulu but maybe goats can? I started to have the irrational belief that I was some goat whisper (y’all it has been a long two weeks) but we get to the gate and then I realize what they really want: to get into the org’s garden and eat the plants! Thankfully I figured out their intent and was able to lock them out. Oh and mama goat, ditched the kids an hour later. I know because I heard high pitched cries all morning from the lost kids…and my org was at least 50 yards away.

Obnoxious Mama Goat, just waiting for me to forget about the gate so she could get a snack!

Obnoxious Mama Goat, just waiting for me to forget about the gate so she could get a snack!

Welcome to my job. You never know what adventure lies ahead each day.

Leave a Reply

