Life Administration: Intro

Sanibonani,

Hope everyone had a nice Christmas and Happy Boxing Day! If it fell during the week we would have a day off, but this year since it is a weekend it just serves as a relic of South Africa’s English heritage. Mine was pretty uneventful, minus a hilarious lunch with my host family. The highlight was while dishing the food I mixed up my isiZulu and Setswana vocabulary and my goofy host sister (who was in a cheeky mood) caught it on video and played it all afternoon for a comedy show. Happy to provide the event’s unintentional entertainment. Also, it was cold and misty in Amajuba. Not the near 100 degrees Fahrenheit from Christmas Eve, which I was anticipating for my first Christmas in the summer. The host family says cold and misty is normal for this time of year. I am starting to label Amajuba just as indecisive as New Mexico and Colorado weather wise.

Anyways a couple weeks ago our Director of Programing and Training (DPT) for PCSA asked CHOP volunteers to submit a few “Day in the Life” examples for the incoming CHOP Group…soon to be SA 33! I was too busy to participate when PCSA needed the submissions, but during a slow afternoon in the clinic  I remembered my frantic google searches a year ago and how I frantically scoured blogs from SA 29 (the CHOP cohort before 31) to obtain current knowledge about the PC experience in South Africa. Then I realized that even though I cannot articulate an average day, there are specific pieces of “Life Administration” (as the DPT called it) I can share. For the next 4 days I will have posts sharing specific aspects of surviving in South Africa.

Before Life Administration commences, here is a brief disclaimer.  Every Peace Corps experience is different, especially in the diversity of sites within South Africa. Take it from someone who has lived in 2 sites and visited 8 other PCVs at their sites, my KZN focused insight may not be relevant to your experience. However, if you are open to the thoughts any PCV experience has the potential. The most helpful pieces of advice that keep me grounded in service came from RPCVs (my graduate school classmates)who served in Eastern Europe, South America, the Tropics of Africa, and Central America …aka not South Africa.

In that Spirit for SA 33, the future and Present PCV community, and their loved ones who may enjoy it, here is a glimpse of how I live in South Africa. Even though some of the topics maybe random they are significant parts of my experience.

If anyone from SA 33 is reading this, we are so excited to meet you in South Africa! Enjoy the last few weeks in America and get ready for the adventure. Boring is the antithesis of South Africa, you are always on your toes here.

All the best,

Katey-Red

 

 

Leave a Reply

